Order & Meaning of Patterns & Belts

Order and Meaning of the Patterns

There are loads of resources which define the meaning of the Patterns, but very briefly the meaning of the patterns is as follows:

  1. Il Jang – Heaven and Light
  2. Ee Jang – Lake and Joy / Calm
  3. Sam Jang – Sun and Fire
  4. Saa Jang – Thunder
  5. Oh Jang – Wind
  6. Yuk Jang – Water
  7. Chil Jang – Mountain
  8. Pal Jang – Earth

Order and Meaning of the Belts

There are 6 colours of belt in Taekwondo and 5 half belts or ‘tags’, i.e.: white belt, yellow tag, yellow belt, green tag and so on.  This is a brief introduction to the meaning of the colours of the belts.  The Poomse or patterns have different meanings.


White – 10th kup


The white belt signifies innocence and purity as the student has no previous knowledge of Taekwondo.

Yellow – 8th kup


Yellow signifies gold: an element of the Earth.  Gold in turn represents truth and the foundation of Taekwondo.

Green – 6th kup


Green signifies growth as Taekwondo skills begin to grow and develop.

Blue – 4th kup


Blue signifies heaven as the student matures and progresses in training.

Red – 2nd kup


Red represents the sun, the centre of our solar system.  Red also signifies danger cautioning the student to exercise control and warning the opponent to stay away.

Black – 1st Dan


Black is the opposite of white signifying maturity and proficiency in Taekwondo.  It also indicates the wearer’s invulnerability to darkness and fear.  Black represents the universe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.